Friday, November 6, 2009

Mimi & Papa Hoppa miss Ella Francis!!!!!

MIMI IS MISSING ELLA. MIMI CAN"T WAIT UNTIL THANKSGIVING. TOM,AYNSLEY AND ELLA ARE COMING TO TIDY ISLAND!

Ella is HAPPY about seeing Mimi and Papa too!

St. Augustine, Florida to New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Friday, November 6, 2006
The St. Augustine Lighthouse
Barb & Tate
Barb and Ed departed Island Hopper after 8 days on the boat. Debbie & Kevin had a wonderful time cruising with the two of them. Ed & Barb are easy going and a wonderful couple to have aboard Island Hopper.
Island Hopper Departing the Marina
Island Hopper left the marina at 8:15 AM. Temperatures were in the low 80's, Winds 15 -25 NE, and seas a moderate chop on the ICW. Island Hopper arrived at New Smyrna Beach Municipal Marina at 3:00 PM for a 70 mile travel day. The winds really kicked up during docking, but Captain Kevin did a great job again. Debbie & Kevin washed the boat and did some laundry. They then opened a good bottle of red wine and ate dinner on the boat. Another great day on the waterways.

All About New Smyrna Beach...

Blue skies meet over 13 miles of white sand in New Smyrna Beach, consistently voted one of the "Best Beaches". New Smyrna Beach lays claim to the best Florida offers--excellent backwater and offshore fishing, golf, historical sites, cultural events and eclectic shopping and dining experiences along historical Flagler Avenue and Canal Street. Just south of New Smyrna lies the Canaveral National Seashore, which offers excellent swimming, bird watching, hiking and more. Anglers at nearby Mosquito Lagoon have set international records with giant redfish catches. Deep-sea charters leave New Smyrna Beach daily, giving offshore fishers an easy way to wet a line in the beautiful Atlantic Ocean .Many historical and cultural sites also make New Smyrna Beach noteworthy. From the Turnbull and Sugar Mill Ruins, to the Eldora State House and the Ponce Inlet lighthouse, the area is rich in history.Named one of " America 's Top Small Cities for The Arts," New Smyrna is home to the Atlantic Center for the Arts, an artists-in-residence community and educational facility, the Harris House, the Little Theatre and Arts on Douglas . Frequent arts shows featuring visual and performing arts take place throughout the year.Flagler Avenue and Canal Street , which were recently renovated, feature several quaint shops and cafes. It should be no surprise that the second oldest city in Florida is also home to many antique shopping pavilions.New Smyrna possesses a distinct hometown quality reflected in its cracker architecture, lush tropic landscape and community. Enjoy culinary delights from fresh seafood to steaks and pasta on the waterfront, or under an umbrella at a sidewalk cafe. At the end of the day, retire to a charming bed and breakfast inn, family-size condominium or oceanfront hotel.New Smyrna Beach Voted BEST BEACH in 2007 and 2008 by readers of Orlando Sentinel!:

Playing In St. Augustine, Florida

Thursday, November 5, 2009
The crew woke up this morning and headed out to do some sightseeing in St. Augustine, Florida. Barb, Ed and Kevin rode their bikes over the bridge to see the lighthouse.
HISTORY OF THE LIGHTHOUSE
St. Augustine, the oldest permanent European settlement on the North American continent, is affectionately called the Old City. Don Juan Ponce de Leon discovered La Florida, the “Land of Flowers," in 1513 for Spain. Roughly fifty years later, Spain made a serious attempt at colonizing Florida, when Don Pedro Menendez de Aviles was dispatched to the area. Menendez arrived off the Florida coast on August 28, 1565, the Feast Day of St. Augustine, and soon the fledgling colony of St. Augustine was established. Near St. Augustine the Matanzas River empties into the Atlantic, flowing past barrier islands named Anastasia and Conch. On the northern end of Anastasia Island, several towers have been built through the years overlooking the inlet that leads to St. Augustine. Early on, the Spanish constructed a wooden lookout tower. Later, a more permanent tower was built using blocks of coquina that was formed as large deposits of shells were cemented together over time by calcium carbonate. Spain ceded control of Florida to the English in 1763 to regain control of Cuba. However, under the 1783 Treaty of Paris, control of Florida was returned to the Spanish, who controlled Florida until they relinquished it to the United States in 1821. Early St. Augustine LighthousePhotograph courtesy State Archives of FloridaAs St. Augustine was the leading port in the newly acquired Territory of Florida, the U.S. Government worked quickly to establish a light to mark the inlet. John Rodman, the customs collector at St. Augustine, proposed that the old Spanish tower be converted into a lighthouse. However, after a thorough inspection, the tower was deemed unsound, and a new tower was built nearby. The old tower might have served as a lighthouse temporarily, but in 1824, the new brick tower, rising to a height of seventy-three feet, was placed in service. John Andreu, a Minorcan, was paid $350 a year to care for the lighthouse and tend the oil lamps, set in silver, bowl-shaped reflectors. The lighthouse was outfitted with a fourth-order Fresnel lens in 1855, increasing the light’s range. In 1859, Keeper Joseph Andreu fell 60 feet to his death while whitewashing the tower. Joseph's wife, Maria de los Dolores Mestre Andreu, took over as keeper and served until the light was extinguished shortly after the outbreak of the Civil War. The tower remained dark until after the conflict ended, and by that time, it was clearly evident that erosion was endangering the tower. A coquina breakwater was hastily built to retard the encroaching sea. Still, it was determined that a new lighthouse was needed and a five-acre tract, located a half-mile inland, was acquired. Plans for the new lighthouse were drawn up by Paul Pelz, Chief Draftsman of the Lighthouse Board and who would later be one of two architects responsible for designing the Library of Congress. Construction on the lighthouse began in 1871, but the walls had grown to a height of just a few feet when funds were exhausted. Work resumed after additional funding was obtained, and the lighthouse commenced operation on October 15, 1874. The tower was built using brick from Alabama, granite from Georgia, iron work forged in Philadelphia, and a first-order Fresnel lens crafted in France. The small building attached to the base of the tower originally housed a keeper’s office on one side and an area for storing the large drums of lard oil, used in the lighthouse’s lamp, on the other. When the light was converted to kerosene in 1855, a new oil house was built a safe distance away from the tower to contain the more volatile fuel. While work was underway on the new tower, the Lighthouse Board submitted the following report: "A keeper's dwelling will be required, as there are not sufficient or proper accommodations at the old lighthouse for three keepers and the distance is too great from the new tower to insure proper attendance, even if the present dwelling were suitable." The keepers continued to live at the old lighthouse until a duplex, built just east of the new lighthouse, was finished in 1876. The head keeper lived in the north side of the dwelling, with the first assistant in the south side and the second assistant making do with two small rooms located on the top floor between the two sides. The keeper’s bedrooms were located upstairs, while downstairs each side had a dining room on the west and a parlor on the east side. Constructing the new lighthouse proved to be a prudent move as the old tower toppled into the sea on August 22, 1880. With three keepers stationed at the lighthouse, the day was divided into three eight-hour watches. The primary responsibility of the keepers was to care for the light, which required lugging a 30-pound can of lard oil up the tower’s 214 stairs and periodically winding up the 275-pound weight that revolved the lens. In addition, the keepers maintained all the station’s buildings, provided tours to visitors, and when necessary even served as lifesavers. This later function is demonstrated by the following two entries from the station’s logbook: September 23, 1887 Schooner Dream went on sand bar near old lighthouse at 3 AM. Nine passengers rescued by keepers. Lost anchor, sails, and small boat. Vessel floated off in damaged condition. November 13, 1890 at 5 PM, the steamer Star Spangled Banner foundered on the bar. A total wreck. Crew were rescued by keeper. Life at the station was full of varied activities for the keeper’s children as well. One noted story involves Cardell "Cracker" Daniels, son of keeper C.D. Daniels. Cracker would regularly use the tall tower in his backyard as a launching pad for his model airplanes and parachutes. After safely parachuting several inanimate objects off the tower, Cracker decided it was time for a live experiment. Cracker’s sister, Wilma, had a cat named Smokey, who was selected as the paratrooper. After a couple of practice descents from lesser heights, the reluctant cat was tossed from the top of the tower with the parachute strapped to its back. When the frightened feline reached the ground, it quickly fled from the area. Unaware of Cracker’s antics, Wilma searched far and near for her cat over the next several days. It was about a month before Smokey finally returned home, but it wasn’t until several years later that the family learned the real reason for the cat’s disappearance. The keeper’s dwelling was electrified in 1925, but the tower was not wired up until 1936. Electricity lessened the keeper’s responsibilities, eventually leading to the de-staffing of the lighthouse in 1955. Local lamplighters were employed to keep an eye on the light, and the dwelling was rented out for several years. Full automation of the light occurred around 1971, when a sun relay was installed atop the tower to activate and deactivate the light. In the late 1960’s the dwelling was boarded up, declared surplus and put on the auction block. St. Johns County was negotiating the purchase of the dwelling when it was completely gutted by an arson’s fire on July 28, 1970. The fire did reduce the purchase price, but made restoring the structure a daunting task. The county considered tearing down the dwelling, but the Junior Service League of St. Augustine, founded in 1935 by a group of women interested in improving social, educational, and cultural conditions of St. Johns County, offered to take on the restoration project in 1980. Eight years later, the dwelling was opened as a maritime museum. The Junior Service League next signed a lease with the Coast Guard for the lighthouse, and by 1994 the tower was fully restored and opened to the public for climbing. In 1986, bullets shot from a 30-06 rifle shattered nineteen prisms in the historic Fresnel lens. Hank Mears, then caretaker of the light, called the FBI. During the ensuing investigation, powder burns were discovered on a nearby palm tree. The FBI did find the person responsible, but the senseless act put the lens out of commission. An airport beacon was placed atop the tower, while the options of removing the lens or repairing it were debated. Fortunately, a grant was obtained, replacement prisms and bulls-eye panels were recreated, and the lens resumed operation. The St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum was incorporated as a separate entity from the Junior Service League in January 1998. A new visitors’ center was added to the site in 2000 to help accommodate the large crowds who come to learn about the lighthouse and to climb to the top of the tower for the expansive view. The lighthouse was awarded to St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum in 2002 under the provisions of the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act of 2000.
After lunch Barb, Ed, Debbie & Kevin rode bikes to tour the Fort Castillo de San Marcos.
VISITING THE FORT....
Though its construction started in 1672 the Castillo de San Marcos’ history embodies the struggle and contest of the entire colonial era as well as the foundations of American identity. The Monument site consists of 20.5 acres and includes a reconstructed section of the walled defense line surrounding the city of St. Augustine incorporating the original city gates. The Castillo de San Marcos' architecture and detail are distinctive and unique. It is the oldest masonry and only extant 17th century fort in North America. As such it is an excellent example of the "bastion system" of fortification.
Then the crew continued riding bikes throughout historic St. Augustine.

Debbie & Kevin At The Entrance of Flagler Presbyterian Church

Flagler College

Debbie & Ed At Collage

Later in the evening the crew ate dinner at Collage. The salads, soups, entrees and desserts were fabulous. The toasted coconut ice cream was delicious.

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island to St. Augustine, FL

Wednesday, November 4, 2009
A Young Man Traveling On The Water For Habitat Humainity
Island Hopper departed the dock at Fernandina Beach at 8:15 AM headed to St. Augustine, FL. Sunny and in the mid 70's, with winds North 15 - 20. It was a breezy days with high winds and strong currents when docking at St. Augustine Municipal Marina. Barb, Kevin and Debbie walked into the historic district. The crew ate dinner at Harry's, a creole restaurant.
Flagler College
Ponce De Leon's Discovery The culture of North America changed forever in the year 1513. In April, the Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de Leon landed while searching for the fabled isle of Bimini. The exact landing spot where Ponce and his men came ashore remains unknown, but it was apparently somewhere between the Cape Canaveral area and the mouth of the St. Johns River. Searching for this historic site, archeologists have conducted numerous "digs" at the Fountain of Youth, a National Archeological Park, where a Timucuan Indian village called Seloy was located and where the city of St. Augustine had its beginning. Ponce de Leon was on a mission of exploration, not settlement, and his visit to northeast Florida was brief. Because he arrived during the Easter season, known as the Pascua Florida, Ponce named his new discovery La Florida – a name still used today. Besides naming the land and claiming it for Spain, Ponce de Leon made a discovery that was to lead to the creation of St. Augustine. Sailing along the Florida coastline, Ponce de Leon realized that a strong current was carrying his ships rapidly northward. This would aid in quickly returning Spanish ships home and was later called the Gulf Stream. Although Timucuans may not have had much contact with the Spanish after Ponce de Leon sailed away, Native Americans in other parts of Florida welcomed, battled with and fled from numerous Spanish expeditions. Ponce turned his attention to the west coast of Florida where he died from a poisoned arrow. Men like Tristan de Luna, Cabeza de Vaca, and Hernando de Soto followed Ponce de Leon to Florida and reluctantly concluded that major investment in this land was not worthwhile. It was filled with dangerous animals like alligators and snakes, as well as insects. Heat, humidity, hurricanes and other storms were serious unavoidable problems. Some parts of Florida welcomed the Spanish, but it soon became apparent that the war-like natives would not be as easily subdued as those from other parts of the New World. Natives from these far more lucrative areas could be forced to work as slaves while Spain took their gold and silver. Also, European agriculture did not take hold on the coasts. It seemed apparent that a colony would have to depend on help from Spain to survive. Based on these conclusions, the Spanish simply ignored risky Florida. French Intruders In 1562, French Protestants known as Huguenots arrived in Florida. Led by Jean Ribault, their goal was to establish a colony in the New World as a possible haven. Despite the Spanish claim to a vast La Florida-- from modern-day Florida to Labrador and as far westward as the King of Spain could imagine-- the Frenchmen established a small settlement near the mouth of the St. Johns River. Unfortunately for them, their food supply shipment never arrived. Though Timucuans happily shared their beans and squash with their visitors, eventually the French faced starvation and mutiny. Thus, the Frenchman devoted their efforts to building a boat and wasted no time in sailing away from Florida. In 1564, a much larger and better prepared French expedition -- Huguenots including women and children-- arrived at the earlier settlement. Led by Rene Laudonniere, Fort Caroline was built from the remains of the previous village. In 1561, Spain’s King Phillip II had declared that no more effort would be made to colonize Florida. It was explained to Phillip by his advisors that the arrival of the French was a trespass on Spanish territory, and as Protestants, they were heretics. Beyond that, the presence of a French base on the eastern shore of La Florida would pose a very dangerous threat to the Spanish treasure fleets returning home. Diplomatically, the Spanish reminded Queen Catherine of France that the Pope had confirmed that La Florida was the property of Spain. They asked her to remove her subjects, but soon learned that the French were preparing an even larger fleet to sail for Florida. The French would have to be removed by force. King Phillip knew the best man to complete such a task was Don Pedro Menendez de Aviles. Menendez and his Mission Admiral General Don Pedro Menendez de Aviles was born in Aviles, Spain in 1519. When Menendez was only 30, King Charles of Spain directed him to pursue and capture a French corsair named Jean Alfonse who had recently seized ten Spanish ships. Although the king provided neither money, ships nor troops for the mission, Menendez headed out to sea where he freed five of the ships and killed Alfonse. In 1554, the king placed him in charge of the treasure fleets sailing between Spain and her colonies in the New World. The Casa de Contratacion, previously in charge, had lost fleets to corsairs. Menendez excelled without bribery and successfully led the fleets on their long journeys. Another war between Spain and France resulted in new duties for Menendez. He distinguished himself in battles, and at the war’s end, he was given the honor of transporting King Phillip home to Spain. Confident that he had the direct support of the throne, Menendez became more and more disrespectful of the Casa, who had became increasingly annoyed with his success and honesty. In one famous incident, he insulted the Casa members publicly by personally removing the King’s banner from one of their small boats. When he returned from the 1563 voyage, the Casa accused him of numerous infractions and he was imprisoned in the Almohades treasure house in Seville.

St. Simons Island to Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island

Tuesday, November 3, 2009
Hey, Izor, We are back to publishing!!!!!!!!!!!
Island Hopper departed Golden Isles Marina, St. Simons at 7:15 AM. Winds 10 - 15 North. Seas 2 -3. Temperatures in the mid 60's. Traveled 41.5 miles to Fernandina Harbor Marina. The crew rinsed down the boat, had a quick lunch and then walked into town.
Goin Ashore... The downtown historic district. a 50 -block section surrounding Centre Street, is an attractive and popular gingerbread seaport dating from the 1850's when Florida's first cross-state railroad ran from Fernandina to Cedar Key ( the railroad tracks still run past the waterfront with occasional traffic). The Island Hopper crew was awaken at 5:30 AM by the horn of the train. The area is listed on the National Historic Register and is worth a visit. South of the historic district a white discharge from two paper mills in Fernandina Beach can be seen. Although the two paper mills are still busy, better emissions controls have improved the quality of the air and water A sizable commercial fishing fleet , consisting mainly of shrimp boats, lies above and below the marina. A commercial dock to the north accommodates freighters and containerships.
Dick and Tina Devoe, of Amelia Island, came over at 6:30 PM for drinks. The crew then walked to dinner at Espana Restaurant for tapas. It was a wonderful meal.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Hilton Head, South Carolina to St. Simons Island, Georgia

Monday, November 2, 2009 Island Hopper departed the dock for an early travel day at 7:15 AM heading to St. Simons Island, Georgia. Captain Kevin chose to do an outside run in the Atlantic Ocean to avoid shoaling in the Georgia ICW with 8 foot tides and its associated currents. Obama's stimulus money will be dredging the waterway soon, but for now it would have been a tedious travel day. Skies partly cloudy, temperatures in the low 60's, winds N 15 - 20 and the seas 2 -3. Island Hopper rocked and rolled on the GPS set course, cruising at 19 to MPH. Captain Kevin's able seamanship made the crew feel safe and confident with him at the helm. Today is a 100 mile day. A note of poor interest. All crew members had their life inflatable signaling vests ready if needed, but Tate's was left in the closet below. The crew members made trips into the cabin, but continued to forget to bring Tate's life jacket to the bridge.

Island Hopper arrived at Golden Isles Marina at 12:30 PM. Morning Star Marinas a Golden Isles is located on the Frederica River at St. Simons Island, Georgia just around the southern shoal of Lanier Island at ICW Mile 675.

Golden Isles Marina

Goin’ Ashore

Kevin In The Gazebo At The Lighthouse

One of Georgia’s Golden Isle and largest of its sea island, St. Simons Island is a draw for history buffs, golf and tennis players, nature lovers and, of course, boaters. Now a popular tourist destination St. Simons was named one of the best places to retire by “Money Magazine” 2006. . The southern tip of the island is a hub of activity centered around the Village and Pier. Here you’ll find a concentration of tourist-oriented shops and restaurant. Just east of the pier is Neptune Park, a beachfront picnic area, playground, and the site of numerous festivals. On the far side of the park is the St. Simons Visitors Center, housed in the St. Simons Island Casino, and the landmark lighthouse, the original keeper’s dwelling and the A.W. Jones Heritage Center. It is worth the strenuous climb up the narrow, winding staircase of the 1872 lighthouse for a great view of the island and St. Simons Sound. The keeper’s cottage has a museum with the history of the lighthouse (the original built in 1807, was destroyed by Confederate troops in 1862 to prevent the union forces from using it) The Heritage Center has exhibits about island history.

The Lighthouse

A Quaint Inn In Town

A Shrimp Boat

History....

St. Simon Island is rich in history dating as far back as 3000 B.C. when the Timucan and Guale Indian tribes first inhabited the island. Since that time, St. Simons Island has flown under the flags of the Spanish, French, British, American and Confederate States of America. While prized by armies for the strategic position along the coast, by plantation owners for the high quality long-staple cotton (known as sea island cotton) that the land could produce, and by ship builders for the strength of the native live-oaks, St. Simons Island has captivated the imaginations of generations of inhabitants with a charm and natural beauty that is distinctly St. Simons Island.

The crew ate at the marina restaurant called "Coastal Kitchen." The chef had redfish ( a local fresh fish) as the special. It was a wonderful meal.

Beaufort, South Carolina to Harbour Town, Hilton Head, South Carolina

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Island Hopper departed the dock in Beaufort at 9:00 AM. Today's journey was only 27 miles, but the crew wanted to make Hilton Head a destination to visit. Temperatures in the 70's, skies sunny, winds 10 -15 SW and seas 1 -2 with a moderate chop. It was a beautiful and relaxing day on the water. Island Hopper pulled into Harbour Town Yacht Basin at 12:05 PM.

Harbour Town Lighthouse

Alligator On The Shore

Parrot At South Beach
South Beach Pumpkin Patch

Harbour Town Harbor

Goin Ashore......... The nation knows Hilton Head Island for the red-striped lighthouse and fine golf courses, but it is also a great family getaway with long beaches and walking and bicycling trails through its well-preserved natural areas. Dozens of restaurants cater to every ones tastes. Harbour Town Lighthouse History...

Bar and Ed at the Harbour Town Lighthouse

The 90-foot, red-and-white striped tower of the Harbour Town Lighthouse on Hilton Head Island is the visual centerpiece of the popular Sea Pines, located in Hilton Head South Carolina. Completed in 1970, this was the first privately financed lighthouse to be built since the early 1800s. Visitors who climb the lighthouse steps will find an excellent spot from which to view Hilton Head Island. Aside from the marvelous view of Harbour Town and Hilton Head Island, visitors are treated to The Shop At The Top – a wonderful Hilton Head shopping experience. Exclusive dealer for Harbour Lights Lighthouses, Pandora charms and bracelets, fine hand-made crystal collectibles by Crystal World, and many other Hilton Head collectibles. The Harbour Town Lighthouse on Hilton Head Island is a must see for anyone visiting Hilton Head South Carolina. The crew rode bicycles 9 miles round trip to South Beach to visit The Salty Dog. A must stop for all visitors. Tonight the crew is dining at Waterfront. It is located next to the lighthouse and serves wonderful seafood. It was a fabulous day of playing on Hilton Head.